closetgeekshow

Level Design Theory Article Dump

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

Hi, I’m a hobbyist game developer with no released projects (after like 7 years :`( )and no actual schooling in game design concepts but I love to read research on game design. I’ve had a particular focus on level design lately because I have no idea what I’m doing and every time I get started I don’t know how to approach it. I’ll make a thing and it looks too big or too small, or it’ll be boring and I don’t know how to even begin to fix it. 

Then just by chance I found an excellent article “The Door Problem of Combat Design” that really got gears turning in my head. That led to a multi-day research project that has resulted in all these great links. 

I have a feeling that much of this is old hat to professionals but I’ve found it all very helpful as a total amateur. 

 

 

The Door Problem of Combat Design by Andrew Yoder - https://andrewyoderdesign.blog/2019/08/04/the-door-problem-of-combat-design/

 

Level Design - Views and Vistas by Mike Stout - https://gamedevelopment.tutsplus.com/articles/level-design-views-and-vistas--cms-25036

 

Enemy Attacks and Telegraphing by Mike Stout - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/enemy-attacks-and-telegraphing/

 

The Rule of Seven by Rufio Bangarang - https://www.chaoticstupid.com/the-rule-of-seven/

 

Dark Past (Part 4) by Robert Yang - https://www.blog.radiator.debacle.us/2011/07/dark-past-part-4-useful-post-or-randy.html

 

Level Design Workshop: Designing Radically Non-Linear Single Player Levels (Slide Deck only), particularly slides 55 to 68 by Audrey Serr - https://www.gdcvault.com/play/1026398/Level-Design-Workshop-Designing-Radically

 

Composition in Level Design by Mateusz Piaskiewicz - http://level-design.org/?page_id=2274

 

More About Level Design and Constraints by Andrew Yoder - https://andrewyoderdesign.blog/2020/03/28/more-about-level-design-and-constraints/

 

Level Design for Combat by Max Pears - https://www.nextleveldesign.org/index.php?/content/nld-originals/level-design-for-combat-max-pears-r127/

 

Engaging Level Design for Combat Part 2 by Max Pears - https://www.nextleveldesign.org/index.php?/content/nld-originals/level-design-for-combat-part-2-max-pears-r163/

 

Engaging Level Design for Combat Part 3 by Max Pears - https://www.nextleveldesign.org/index.php?/content/nld-originals/level-design-for-combat-part-3-max-pears-r229/

 

Trinity Game Design Methodology by Mike Stout

1 - Trinity Game Design Methodology - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-a-game-design-methodology-part-1/

2 - Choice Fields - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-part-2-choice-fields/

3 - Game Mechanics - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-part-3-game-mechanics/

4 - Spectra - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-4-spectra/

5 - Setups - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-5-setups/

6 - Intensity Ramps - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-6-intensity-ramps/

7 - Ramps Part 2 - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-7-ramps-part-2/

8 - Paths - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-7-ramps-part-2/

9 - Why I Call It Trinity - http://www.chaoticstupid.com/trinity-9-why-i-call-it-trinity/

 

 

 

Edited by closetgeekshow

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.